Cinder, by Marissa Meyer

Summary:  Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction.

Feiwel & Friends

Find it at WCPL

3 Comments

  1. This is less a retelling of Cinderella, and more of a metaphor. I thought the author was creative in tying tradition to a fresh and creative science fiction story. I think the author did a superb job narrating the story. It was told in third person, but I didn’t even notice it. The tone was not at all awkward and the character’s voice came through quite well; it was not at all difficult for me to identify with her. The plot was easy to read and kept me interested, but was overall predictable. From page 40, I knew how the book would end. While there were still minor surprises, I was mostly waiting for the conclusion I knew would come. This was the author’s debut novel and part of a quartet. I would say to her that in the future she could try writing for a younger audience or foreshadow with more subtlety. I do not believe this book will win Printz.

Leave a Reply

